The Tehri Dam is a 260 meter (855 feet) high rock and earth-fill embankment dam on the Bhagirathi River near Tehri in Uttarakhand, India. It is the primary dam of theTehri Hydro Development Corporation Ltd. and the Tehri hydroelectric complex. Completed in 2006, the Tehri Dam withholds a reservoir of 2.6 billion cubic meters for irrigation, municipal water supply and the generation of 1,000 MW of hydroelectricity along with an additional 1,000 MW of pumped storage hydroelectricity.

In 1988, the Tehri Hydro Development Corporation was formed to manage the dam and 75% of the funding would be provide by the federal government, 25% by the state. Uttar Pradesh would finance the entire irrigation portion of the project. In 1990, the project was reconsidered and the design changed to its current multi-purpose, including a 2400 MW hydro-electric power production capacity. Construction on the Tehri Dam was complete in 2006 while the second part of the project, the Koteshwar Dam, remains ongoing.

The 1000 MW Tehri Dam is part of the Tehri Hydropower Complex which also includes the 400 MW Koteshwar Dam downstream and the 1000 MW Tehri Pumped Storage Hydroelectric Power Plant which is set for completion in 2013. The Tehri dam along with the downstream Koteshwar Dam and the Tehri pumped storage hydroelectricity power plant will afford a power generation capacity of 2400 MW, provision of irrigation to an area of 270,000 hectares, irrigation stabilization to an area of 600,000 hectares, and a supply of 270 million gallons of drinking water per day to the industrialized areas of Delhi, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand.

Tehri Dam
Locale Uttarakhand, India
Coordinates 30°22′40″N 78°28′50″E / 30.37778°N 78.48056°E / 30.37778; 78.48056 / 30.37778; 78.48056
Construction began 1978
Opening date 2006
Construction cost $1 Billion USD
Dam and spillways
Type of dam Embankment, earth and rock-fill
Length 575 m (1,886 ft)
Height 260 m (850 ft)
Crest width 20 m (66 ft)
Base width 1,128 m (3,701 ft)
Impounds Bhagirathi River
Type of spillway Gate controlled
Spillway capacity 15,540 m3/s (549,000 cu ft/s)
Surface area 52 square kilometres (20 sq mi)
Power station
Type Yes
Turbines Vertical Francis turbines
Installed capacity 2000 MW (With PS plant)